Weekend in Paris | What is it actually like?

They say that New York is the city that never sleeps, but I beg to differ; Paris can definitely give it a run for its money. These past few weeks have been a bit insane, which to be honest, I actually love. I thrive in a world of long to-do lists and busy schedules, although I’ve been having to force myself to block out chunks of time for my research and master’s project. I’m still learning how to do this balancing act!

For today’s blog post, I thought I’d give you a little snapshot of what a weekend in my Paris is like. I say my Paris, because everyone has their own version and reality of life here. There are many people who have much busier and more exciting lifestyles than I do, while I find and admire others who excel in their more focused ways of life. The tagline for my blog is “Life in Paris, according to a California girl”; I strive to share my adventures with you, giving you one of the many points of view on la vie quotidienne in the French capital. Ok, disclaimer over 🙂 – Voilà, a glimpse of this weekend in Paris.

Gearing up for SPCO’s Cocktails & Conversations!

We had an amazing, productive Friday night meeting with Sinfonietta Paris Chamber Orchestra chez Lauren. I am happy to present our upcoming April 28 & 29 Cocktails and Conversations concert series at Éléphant Paname – Centre d’Art et de Danse, a beautiful space located in Paris’s 2nd arrondissement. I am so excited for you to see this new location, because it is truly phenomenal. We hope you can join us for a stunning program of Bach, Poulenc, and Mozart, followed by hors d’oeuvres and exquisite wine from Chateau de Beau-Site. Reserve your tickets here!

Sinfonietta Paris Chamber Orchestra PatriciaParisienne Paris

Concert au Conservatoire

Thank you to everyone who came to our concert! After being in rehearsal all day for our May 15 show, my fellow conservatoire singers and I gave a performance on Saturday afternoon. I sang “Must the Winter Come So Soon” from Barber’s opera Vanessa and “When I am laid in Earth (Dido’s Lament)” from Dido and Aeneas by Purcell. (Super sad songs, hence the face!) Here are some photos of the performance taken by the talented Yoichi Masuda, including one on stage afterward with the mini loves of my life, my niece and nephew. I promise to be better at announcing upcoming performances; it would mean the world to me to see more of you in the audience. Videos to come soon! Merci beaucoup.
20140407-085516.jpg 20140407-085430.jpg

Sunday morning on rue Cler

One of my favorite things to do on the weekend in Paris is to have a Sunday morning stroll through the marché on rue Cler. L’anglais and I stood in line for about fifteen minutes to get a roast chicken – and it was so worth it. We’ve found that the French have no problem queuing for good food, but anywhere else, watch out for your place in line! Afterward, we got a few baguettes for lunch, which were still deliciously warm from the oven. Fresh-outta-the-oven baguettes are one of my favorite things.

The lively 7th arrondissement pedestrian street has lots of shops and cafés to enjoy, including some of the most beautiful florist stops in the city. I couldn’t help but pick up a bouquet of these gorgeous tulips!

rue Cler Paris PatriciaParisienne tulips

Hana’s Birthday

After lunch with my family, l’anglais and I walked across the river to the right bank, past many of the marathon finishers, for Hana’s party. Hana is one of the most positive, enthusiastic, and talented people I’ve met here, and I was thrilled to be able to celebrate with her and these other lovely, creative ladies. We had such a great afternoon, laughing, eating, chatting, and eating some more. The spread was truly amazing; I left very happy and very full. Here is the Slovak chocolate cake that she made – delicious! Thank you for including us in your celebrations and for being such great hosts, Hana and Mr. J. Happy Birthday, ma belle!

Happy Birthday Hana Journey Into La Villa Lumiere PatriciaParisienne Paris

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

xx PatriciaParisienne

~

For more regular updates, follow me on Instagram or Facebook!

6 thoughts on “Weekend in Paris | What is it actually like?

  1. Oh your weekend sounds to have been great!
    It seems to me that with spring and the coming summer weekends will get even lovelier 🙂
    Hope to see you soon!
    xx
    Yle

    Like

    • Thanks, Ylenia! I know; I can’t wait. This weather is so beautiful; I feel so happy that my heart could burst! We live in the most beautiful place on Earth 🙂 Hope to see you soon as well! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

