Thanksgiving in Paris – and how to carry a fresh turkey safely across the city

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays.  Being away from the US, I was curious as to how the celebrations would fare this year.  Where does one get cranberries, a turkey, pumpkin pie ingredients, gravy, and stuffing in this city?

Thanksgiving Paris 2012 american holiday day of thanks

Thankfully, (pun intended) you can get it all in Paris! Not without a few treks across entire metro lines and hitting the store Thanksgiving in the Marais (without which the full meal would not have been possible), but you can definitely find everything you need to pull off a successful Turkey Day meal. In fact, at the store Thanksgiving, one can get all sorts of American food products! (Reese’s peanut butter cups, included!) Oh, the way to get a turkey across the city is to place yourself in the back corners of the metro, where you can put it under your seat, or behind you on your seat, because that thing is heavyyy.

Thanksgiving Paris 2012 France American holiday turkey where do you get a turkey in paris

Our lovely Thanksgiving spread!

I was fortunate enough to have not one but TWO Thanksgivings this year! Both involved including friends from all over the world and introducing them to our fabulous eat-til-you-burst holiday.  The best parts of the night were going around and saying what we were thankful for (which everyone loved! When an English friend heard what we were about to do, she said, “YES! I have always wanted to do this and I never thought I would get to!!!!!” Happy that this made her holiday!) and introducing European friends to my favorite dessert, pumpkin pie.  I loved seeing the concerned and curious faces take their first bite of the pie and immediately smile and say, “Oh my goodness! THIS IS SO GOOD!” Yes, ladies and gentlemen, pumpkin pie is amazing.

Whipped cream pumpkin pie Thanksgiving 2012 in Paris American holiday France

So excited for pumpkin pie!!!

Of course, the experience of being able to celebrate this important American holiday while being almost 6000 miles away from home was truly the best part of this Thanksgiving.  This year, I am thankful for: my family, of course, whose support and love is my biggest motivation to succeed and without whom my life in Paris would not be possible; my friends, old and new, who never cease to impress me, motivate me, make me proud, and make me laugh; my voice teacher and professors, who help and push me to achieve my goals; having met John, who every day makes me so incredibly happy; and last but certainly not least, Paris, which has shown me different sides of myself, has made me grow as a person with the new challenges and experiences that I see on a daily basis, and is the city that has introduced me to some of the most amazing people and things in the world.

Happy Thanksgiving 2012 Thanksgiving in Paris Thanksgiving Paris France american holiday turkey

Happy Thanksgiving! Photo Credit: K. Leverton

As always, Paris, je t’aime.

Leave a Reply

